The Legends of the Rocking Dutchman - episode 89

More from reissue vinyl

I featured them before on the Legends of the Rocking Dutchman - my collection of eighties vinyl re-releases of 40s and 50s Rhythm & Blues. Most of them are European pressings - not so surprising for someone located in the Netherlands. Many of them are from the Danish Official label. Discogs lists a forty releases for this label, all from the end of the eighties and most of them in Rhythm & Blues.

The killer of this show though, is an album from 1974 on the Chicago-based Barrelhouse label, that re-released the entire catalog of a pops-and-moms label based in a record store on Maxwell Street in the Windy City, featuring some blues greats including the very first recordings of Little Walter - all from 1947. Hear that story on the Legends of the Rocking Dutchman today, and it wasn't even included on the sleeve notes, but on a nineties website.



  1. Johnny Temple - Old '98' Blues
  2. Jimmy Rogers & Little Walter - Little Store Blues
  3. Champion Jack Dupree - Cabbage Greens #1
  4. Big John Greer - Woman Is A Five Letter Word Big John Greer
  5. Calvin Boze - Beale Street On A Saturday Night
  6. Chuck Willis - Let's Jump Tonight
  7. Eddie Chamblee - Dureop pt 1
  8. Eddie Chamblee - Dureop pt 2
  9. Eddie 'Cleanhead' Vinson - Gonna Send You Back Where I Got You From
  10. Lucky Thompson & Hot Lips Page - My Gal Is Gone
  11. Griffin Brothers - I Wanna Go Back
  12. Jack McVea - F Minor Boogie
  13. Paul Gayten & Annie Laurie - Your Hands Ain't Clean
  14. Clyde McPhatter - Let The Boogie Woogie Roll
  15. T.J. Fowler - What's The Matter Now
  16. Roy Milton - Hop, Skip And Jump
  17. Lucky Millinder feat. Sister Rosetta Tharpe - Rock Daniel


  • Wild Bill Moore Sextette - Bongo Bounce
The following music served as background music during the spoken parts:
  • Kirk Kirkland - The Saxaphone Rag
  • Chu Berry & Hot Lips Page - Blowing Up A Breeze
  • Count 'Red' Hastings - Danny's Jump
  • Cozy Eggleston - Big Heavy
  • Eddie 'Cleanhead' Vinson - Mr Cleanhead Steps Out
  • Frank 'Floorshow' Culley - Skip-A-Page